Chapter 2.1 – Ciera

“Aaron! Come in here! We’re having a family meeting!” I heard my sister shout from the living room.

“I’m coooming!” I groaned and rolled my eyes though it’s not like anyone could see me. I was in my room laying on my bed thinking.

I climbed off the comfortable mattress and walked out into the living room. Blaise and Cala were already sitting on the couch and Mom was waiting, standing in front of them. Cala looked excited and annoyed at the same time while Blaise looked just about as bored as an 11 year old could possibly look. I really think my brother is too mature for his age. I sat down next to them and looked up at my mom, ready to hear what she had to say.

“I have an announcement to make.” she said as she looked each of us in the eye. It seemed like she was watching me the hardest.

“I have decided who I am going to pass the Rose legacy name onto. I’m going to choose one of you to carry on the Rose name. You will inherit the property and everything on it, besides your siblings items of course, and I have come to a decision as to who it will be.”

I felt a bit interested now. Inherit the house and the savings that come with it? Sounds good to me. Cala was getting even more excited, it seemed like she had already figured out what was happening before I got out here.

“I have decided that Aaron will carry on the family name.” I sat there for a moment when it struck me. I was the heir? I was going to carry on the family name?

I looked over at my siblings, “That’s it? Why’d you call me over then?” Blaise said, not seeming to care and he hopped off the couch and went back to his story on the computer.

As for Cala, she looked like someone had just accused her of kicking puppies. Her face showed anger but her eyes were about to spill over with the true sadness she was feeling, “It’s because I’m adopted isn’t it! I don’t count as part of the family do I?!” she spat at our mom then ran off to her room, tears trailing from her eyes.

“Cala!” my mom shouted at her as she slammed the door then she looked to me, “Aaron, I’m sorry, can I talk to you about this in a bit? I need to talk to Cala.”

“No problem Mom, I’ll talk to you tomorrow.” I said as cheerfully as I could muster, but this heir business was too much for my brain to handle. I pushed the thoughts from my mind and focused back on Ciera, but then I’m getting ahead of myself.

I had received a call from Ciera early, very early, one morning for me to come to school early. Apparently she wanted to talk to me. I was fine with that, I didn’t think anything catastrophic could happen. Funny how I look back at that thought and wonder how stupid I could be? But of course I’m getting ahead of myself again.

I agreed to meet Ciera in back of the school early that morning, so I quickly ate some breakfast and started walking to the school. Buses didn’t pick people up this early, so I had to walk. It was a cool morning, the beginning of Fall, my favorite time of year, and the soft wind blew my crazy hair. I flattened it down with my hands as static electricity caused it to stick to my hands. My hair was pretty long for a guy so how do girls deal with hair that’s even longer? Anyway…

I reached the back of the school as planned, and Ciera was there waiting for me. Her face looked sad; her eyes red from crying and she was constantly looking right and left as if she was making sure no one was watching her. I approached her.

“Ciera?”

“Oh thank goodness you’re here!” she exclaimed and dove into my arms and began crying again. “I don’t know what I did wrong, Aaron! We were so good together…”

“Wait, hold on, start from the beginning.” I said gently.

“My boyfriend Rafael dumped me! He was so mean! I couldn’t believe he would do such a thing, he was so sweet too…” she cried.

I couldn’t believe it either. I knew Rafael and he was probably the most chill guy I had ever met. He had never been mean to anyone, or at least from what I had seen and heard, and he was most definitely not mean to girls. “I’m so sorry, Ciera.” I wasn’t sure i believed her or not, but what was i supposed to say? Ceira, i don’t believe you and you’re completely wrong. I mean, she was crying! I never seemed to know what to do when girls were crying.

She sniffled and looked up at me, “Thanks Aaron, you’re just so sweet!” she giggled, back to her old self.


“So…” she said and looked at the floor.

“Well, it was nice talking to you, Ciera, I’ll just, umm…” I looked around and made a slow movement to leave.

“Wait! Please, don’t go yet…” she said, her voice wavered as if tears were threatening to consume her voice too.

I turned around to face her and looked into her eyes, concerned.

“I-I’m sorry,” she sputtered, “It’s just, it all happened so suddenly, and I just, I-I just…” her voice quivered and a tear spilled from her eye.

I let her lay her head on my shoulder and comforted the crying girl, “It’s okay, I won’t leave.” I tried to be as comforting as I could. She seperated, “I’m sorry,” she repeated.

“It’s alright. Are you going to be okay?” I asked.

“Yes, I think so. But I was wondering, do you think we could hang out after school? I’d like to get to know you better.”

I hesitated. My gut was telling me this might be a bad idea, but she seemed so sweet and innocent, just getting to know her couldn’t be wrong, right? “Sure, I can do that.” I replied.

“Great! Meet by the buses after school and we can go to your house!” she beamed and then skipped away.

I stood there feeling a bit overwhelmed as she left. She may be sweet, but she wore me out.


School went by as slowly as it possibly could. My mind was occupied with stuff other than European History and Algebra 2 and the teacher’s voices seemed to drone on and on like a bug buzzing in my ear. I almost fell asleep in chemistry only to be called out by the teacher then told to answer a question I knew nothing about. I guess that’s what I get for not paying attention.

When the bell rang signaling the end of school, I shot out of my seat and practically dove for the door. I couldn’t stand being in those windowless rooms with 20 other people.

I shouldered my bag and trudged out the door, walking toward the buses when I heard a shout, “Aaroooon!”

I turned around to see who was shouting my name, “Aaroon! Don’t tell me you forgot about me did you?” Ciera giggled as she skipped towards me.

“Hehe, of course I didn’t forget.” Yes, it was a lie, what am I supposed to say?

“Good!” she beamed, “Stick with me until we get to your house ‘kay?”

I found myself smiling back at her, “Okay.”


We rode the bus to my house, not saying anything, it was always too loud to talk normally in the bus though anyway. Once we got home, we were approached by the girls of the house.

“Oh hello there!” exclaimed my mother, “Who is this? She’s so pretty! Are you two going out? Oh, my little boy is growing up…” she talked quickly and pretended to wipe a tear from her eye.

“Mom! Stop it!” I said, trying to hide my blushing face.

Ciera laughed, “Hello Mrs. Rose. It’s nice to meet you, my name is Ciera.” She brought out her brightest smile. I wondered how many times she had done this before.

“It’s very nice to meet you as well, darling!” my mother smiled and I rolled my eyes, “Well I’ll be painting if you need me!” And with that, she left. I let out a relieved breath too soon as Cala walked through the door.

“Ooh! Aaron! You have a girlfriend? How come you didn’t tell me? Ooh, she’s really pretty! How’d you manage that, bro?” she talked so fast I could hardly understand what she was saying.

Ciera looked at me with a confused expression, “This is my sister, Cala,” I told her Ciera’s face brightened as Cala exclaimed, “Oh! I know you! I’ve seen you around school before! It’s Ciera, isn’t it?”

“That’s right! I think I’ve seen you too! Were only a couple years apart right?”

“Mm-hm,” Cala nodded vigorously, “Wow, you really are pretty, so how’d Aaron manage to win you over? He’s such a doofus that-“

“Cala!” I exclaimed, “Don’t say stupid stuff like that. Come on, Ciera, let’s go to my room.”

“Don’t do anything I wouldn’t approve of!” she winked and laughed at her own joke as I gently took Ciera’s wrist and pulled her into my room.


“Wow, your room is nice!” Ciera said. We walked in and I shut the door behind us to minimize interruptions of the sisterly kind.

“Thanks.” I replied.

“What’s this treadmill for? Do you work out?”

“Yeah, I do that a lot.” I said, trying not to make my pride very noticable, “I’ll also go to the gym and lift weights. I plan on trying out for the basketball team or even soccer. Tryouts are this week.”

“Wow, you must run really fast.” she replied and walked over to me.

I backed up a bit, “Well i don’t want to brag…”

“You’ll make it on the team for sure. I just know it.” Her voice was low and the spoke slowly.

“W-well I-“

She cut me off, “Don’t talk.” She looked deep into my eyes and had backed me up to the wall. Her voice was smooth and relaxing, like you couldn’t help but let your guard down.

What’s going on? What is she doing to me? I thought. “What’s going on? What are you doing to me?” I told her.

“I’m not doing anything. We’re just chatting, right?”

“R-right…” my voice was quiet and she leaned in and gave me a warm kiss on the lips.


Her lips tasted like sweet cherries and left a lip gloss stain on my mouth. I gently pushed her off of me, “What are you doing?” I asked. I admit, I enjoyed the kiss, but I hardly knew this girl.

She blushed deeply, “I-I’m so sorry! Oh my gosh, I just sort of lost control of myself, I’m so so sorry! Now you’re probably really mad at me…”

“No! No, I’m not mad, just a little surprised…”

She let out a little sigh of relief, “I can’t believe I just did that and after we just met too… I’m so sorry! I really do want to get to know you better! I didn’t mean to come on so strong…”

“No, it’s really okay! I’m totally fine with it. Really!”

“Are you sure? You’re not mad at all?”

“Definitely not mad.” I looked at her worried face, tracing each curve of her dark eyes in perfect contrast with her pink cherry lips, but the wrong face came to mind as I looked at her.


Ugh, what’s wrong with me? I’m here with CIERA! I shook my head to clear my thoughts.

“Is something wrong?” she asked innocently.

“No, of course not,” I replied, though something was definitely wrong. I needed to sort my thoughts out, and I couldn’t do that with Ciera watching my every move with her big eyes and sweet lips.

“So, Ciera?”

“Yeah?”

“I’m really sorry, but I, um, have a lot of homework…”

“Oh, I see…” she looked down sadly.

“I don’t mean it like that! I just need to, well, think about some things.”

“I understand, don’t worry,” her voice sounded strangely normal and not high and giggly, “I’ll head home. I’ll see you tomorrow?”

“Yeah, I’ll see you tomorrow.” she headed out the door, “Ciera!”

“What is it?” she whipped around right before leaving the room.

“Do you want me to walk you home or give you a ride or anything?”

“No, no, that’s alright. I’ve got someone coming to pick me up.”

I looked down at the floor, disappointed for some reason, “Okay then, I’ll see you tomorrow.”

“Bye.” I watched as she walked out of my room and out the front door.


Just then Cala dove through the door, “So are you guys going out or what? Was it getting hot and steamy in here?” She raised her eyebrows up and down and smiled suspiciously.

“No! Get out of my room!” I unknowingly blushed.

“Oooh! You’re blushing! You toootally llllike her!” she rolled her “L”s.

“Shut up, Cala! Just go away!”

“Haha, fine, but after you’ve cooled down, I want the details and if I can’t get them from you, I can get them from Ciera.”

“Don’t count on it!” I called to her and she walked out and shut the door.

I sat on the bed and put my head down trying to sort out my thoughts and feelings. The next thing I knew, I heard Cala shouting “Aaron! Come in here! We’re having a family meeting!”

Joy. I thought as I got up and walked out of the room towards my future.

8 thoughts on “Chapter 2.1 – Ciera

Leave a Reply

